Letter to a dog……

Letter to Cadence…6th March 2009

009There’s no-one here to clean the cream from the dessert bowl or eat the leftover rice from my Chinese..no-one lying on the mattress in the sun, no-one to walk up and down the street at ungodly hours in all weathers. No-one to tuck into the basket in the car…no-one demanding my toast…..

You used to stand up as soon as I drove through the chicane on the way home – when did you stop? You were always so patient, never nagging…… When the spider got you, you were so trusting, so sure that i would help….you put up with so much and all you wanted to do was be with me….

You loved travelling….everytime you got our of the car it was an adventure – the day the Subaru arrived, you took it over & I forgot you were there – out there in the driveway with the car door open…guarding ‘your’ car. A set of keys jingling always made you get to your feet and come to see what was happening and where we were going…….

That last week, you cleaned your face on the doona like you always had, and rolled in delight on the bed, wriggling like a puppy scratching its back…..

That last week, you stood on the block above the house in a show stand that would have got you Best of Breed, and I wished I had the camera…you stood nosing into the wind….and stood, and stood and stood…….

You knew this house from the very beginning – you knew it all…you loved it here and I’m so pleased that you got to see it finished, but so sad that you didn’t really get to sunbake from window to window as the sun moved through the day…this house was designed as much for you as it was for me…..

You knew your time had come before I was prepared to admit it, but deep down, we both knew there had been a turning point that day in autumn when you wanted to cuddle up and didn’t want to go away from me for ages…you were uncertain, didn’t know what you were feeling…

I remember the trip home nearly 11 years ago – you did really well till the Victorian border & then you threw up all over me, but you were happy to stay sitting in my lap…. Tegan adopted you, which really surprised me..and you adored her. You were so easy to train for obedience and show…..as long as I had cheese….. A pretty baby, you chewed my arm and wrist for months till I felt guilty…but the vet told me you’d grow out of it…and you did – and became incredibly gentle..except if someone gave you a dumbbell…or a possum…..

(to be continued)

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in Animals, Dogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

