Darwin 2011….a Tropical Stormchaser’s Mecca #2

Saturday…….Lunch made, we loaded into the car and headed out to one of our favorite lunch spots, Fogg Dam….don’t ignore the ‘crocodile lurking’ warning signs…..there was a youngster sunbaking under a tree right next to the road!!
We sat at the lookout in the shade, enjoying a breeze and watching convection bubble away, nudging and trying to break the cap. Clyve spotted an anvil in the distance through the tryhard updrafts and we shifted a couple of miles down to the end of the road to watch it come into range. A shift in the flow meant that we had to change position again, so we set up across the road from the big naval communications towers at Middle Point. Shortly after, when the storm was starting to look particularly threatening, a Toyota going past, suddenly slowed and threw itself off the road behind us and a gaggle of chasers piled out, armed with cameras and tripods….chaser convergence Aussie style!! Handshakes and hugs done, a line of tripods was set up along the fence, lightning triggers tested, shots taken of the approaching storm. ….and as the storm loomed over us and the cg’s got just a bit close and the rains came, we loaded the gear into the hire car and ‘buggered off’!! The storm promptly collapsed as it got to Humpty Doo but we got a couple of nice photos in the setting sun’s rays…
On Sunday we decided to take a short ferry ride across the Harbour from Darwin to Mandorah and back….we’ve done this in the past and it’s an enjoyable way of spending an hour or so while waiting for storms to develop. Today we are told that the local water police need to practice boarding moving craft….and we were to be the moving craft!!!! Amazing how accurate you can be in steering one moving craft alongside another!! Me being me, I took far too many photos, and in the process, gave myself a rather nasty case of heatstroke….I handed the driving duties over to Michael, crawled into the backseat and ‘existed’ for the rest of the afternoon while we toured around the rural area south of Darwin….and I slept till 9am the next day. Someone suggested that I’m not 29 years old any more….
About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in Australia, Stormchasing, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

