The First Six H…

The First Six Hours…

Sitting on a plane partway across the Coral Sea making bets as to how long it will take for the cabin steward to tell me to pull my window shade down….my money is on somewhere around Noumea…..

Unusually, we have 3 seats between the 2 of us…very fortunately it turns out, as the window seat (Clyve’s) had a non functioning audio plug…he’s moved to the aisle seat and is absorbed in a movie and I’ve got the window seat, a camera and an iPhone…hence the bet about the window shade.

Dinner ( 1.30pm Melbourne time today which is 6.30pm Los Angeles time yesterday) was a rather nice beef dish with mashed potatoes and nicely cooked green beans….you could live well for years on Virgin Australia food…..accompanied by potato salad with a seeded mustard dressing, passionfruit topped cheesecake, cheese and biscuits with a nice glass of red wine/gin and tonic followed by tea and coffee…and for those times in the “middle of the night” (depending on which of the above times you are subscribing to) I’ve got classy shortbread biscuits. Didn’t know till the last trip over ‘the pond’ that they would cheerfully make you a cup of tea in the middle of the night…so now I bring biscuits…

Woman 2 rows up from us took over what seemed to be the entire overhead baggage locker behind us and then took over the 3 vacant seats in the centre of the plane….after being told by the steward that she could only be served one alcoholic drink at a time, she proceeded to polish off 3 drinks in quick successn, and has been going back and forth to the toilet ever since. Thank goodness they aren’t playing Split Enz in the toilets this year….its something a bit more jazz-bluesish today, probably to encourage people to pee faster!!

The longwave trough, which farewelled us from Victoria with such a great lightning show accompanied by torrential rain this morning, is sitting further west than usual, so the Coral Sea is rather benign in the convective department…there was one thumping cumulonimbus out to the east at about the same latitude as Brisbane but closer to Noumea we are now looking at cumulus (of no significant vertical extent)….

Los Angeles is forecast to be pleasantly mild when we arrive sometime between 7 and 8am….once through Customs we will be flying to Denver with United Airlines…. and likely to arrive in temperatures hovering close to 32F/0C…with the promise of snow.

There we have it……it’s 8.25pm Los Angeles time and I’ve been asked to drop the window shade from 3/4 down to completely down…..everyone’s either asleep, watching movies or reading so I don’t see why I can’t look out the window when I want to……

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

