The Canada geese are walking north……

Lake Marion is just northeast of Hillsboro in central Kansas……patches of snow still lie in the fields and around the cornstalks from last season, and drifts as tall as a short man are everywhere 4 days after the snow stopped…and it’s almost the end of March.

The sign “Road ends in the water” immediately got our attention….! Haven’t seen that one before…so we went down the road …..

8943_524513767587656_1042518678_n

Now had you been travelling that road last Saturday, you would have indeed ended up as a submarine as you wouldn’t have seen where the land stopped and the lake started in the whiteout of the blizzard.

Silence…a silence so loud in the centre of America you could both hear it and feel it!! I stood staring at the remnant floes of ice on the shallow edges of the lake, watching the Canada geese walking north across the shallows..no need to fly, they were hardly getting their feet wet at this end……

Coffee and a couple of donuts on a sunny afternoon of 38F and exploring the local area…..lovely way of spending an hour or two…before having to venture back onto Highway 56 to the Marion car wash to get rid of the salt from the weekend and the mud from today……we spent $10 for the whole day and had a ball!!!!!

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized, USA, Weather and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

