My right knee…

“My right knee creaks with every step up the slope…up the wooden crossbars too deep to bound up, but too narrow to take two steps….the knee complains all the way, unaware of the view at the top, the adventure that might be waiting around the headland….just making its presence known by a grating complaint every 2 seconds..I know this cadence because I timed it, just as I timed the sniffing of the Amerian tourist…I presume he was an American tourist because he spoke with a New Yorkish accent…..every 28 seconds….it quite ruined my quiet enjoyment of really good toast and even better marmalade. Can’t get really good bread in America, but this loaf has been cut thick, toasted perfectly and comes with real butter……it’s a simple but delightful way to start the day…

A brief 70 mile drive today, along the coast of Devon and into Cornwall…following my nose and occasionally the signs….I find myself at Widemouth Bay…it’s a Saturday and there are families, surfers, a Wiemaraner, a couple of yapping border collies and 2 black Labradors rolling in the sand with silly grins on their faces…..the surfers have given up, they are out of the water and getting of their wetsuits, hiding modestly behind beach towels and they hop around on one leg trying to wrestle the rubber off…..

I’m sitting up in the cafe..the one that says that dogs are welcome, but wetsuits are not..no mention of motorbike helmets……I buy a Cornish cream tea, again with a serve of wifi…….and my gaze drifts aimlessly and delighted around the scenery in front of me.”Image

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in england, people, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My right knee…

  1. beautifully written Jane, I love reading your blog, helps me see parts of the world I won’t ever get to see. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

