Simple pleasures…another in the coffee shop series….

Sitting in a bakery amidst the lunchtime crowds…workers streaming out of the office and into the bakery for a break from their daily computer driven existence…everything is computer driven nowadays as the world found out this week when the magic number “512” started grounding websites……
10616000_10152447044687779_2961894145719412408_nRolling backwards and forwards in  time……
40, and even 30 years ago we didn’t use computers….we had pen, pencil, paper and calculator. We wrote cheques, we were handed our pay as cash in envelopes and took it to the bank to deposit it into our bank account and have our bank book updated and stamped. We paid for groceries and petrol and clothes in cash…..credit cards were pretty new to most of us back then….we even had a thing called a “Bankcard”.

  (A Bankcard was one of those things you got instead of a loan for a car if you were young and hadn’t established a credit rating……year later, they changed the name from Bankcard to MasterCard….and I still have the same one I was issued in <gasp> 1977!!!!!!)

…….as a generation we wore striped jeans and cheesecloth tops so we “looked different”….imagine that! ….a whole generation trying to look different…..by wearing the same thing…..we wore bright blue and green eyeshadow and nail polish with glitter….platform shoes, the Women’s Weekly came out every Wednesday, the mail was still delivered on Saturday mornings…

…back to today…..the bakery filled up at 12.30 and was suddenly empty by 1.30…..all the office workers had gone back to their keyboards…..those left seem to be students and retirees stopping on their way past…between classes and between shops…..

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in Australia, coffee shops, Growing up, people. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

