What’s a “use by date” among friends?

there’s something about being jammed in a seat behind someone who leans back from the very beginning of a flight……

The cabin of the 737-700 from Melbourne to Brisbane is flooded with early morning light, the stratocumulus below us is receding as we head north to Brisbane on the first leg of our very long day out…up at 5am Melbourne time which is 10am on the 17th January Las Vegas time and we will arrive in Las Vegas at 11.20am on the 18th January and be up for another 10 hours…that makes for a 35 or 36 hour day…. Travelling backwards and forwards from hemisphere to hemisphere on a regular basis means that we don’t really experience jet lag any more, just a drifting tiredness for a day or so…..no longer do we experience the sensation of looking over our own shoulders for a fortnight like in the early years when it seemed that the body had arrived but the brain was still somewhere over the Pacific in transit….

The snack offering on our first flight between Melbourne and Brisbane is complimentary tea, coffee, water, orange juice…and a snack (that’s the surprise…..check the use by date on the oatmeal and raisin cookie!!!!!!).

image

I attempt a puzzle in the inflight magazine, and realise that I would still fail the Australian Public Service entry exam that I sat in 1973 if I had to resit it again in 2015…….

so try this and see how you go…

a solid white cube with sides 25 cm long is painted red. The cube is then cut into 125 1cm cubes. How many of the small cubes will have 2 red sides?

I’ll give you the answer tomorrow….and then ask you to explain how the heck you got that answer (because I couldn’t!!!) …ROTFL……some things I’ve never been good at….

An hour into the flight over NSW and Clyve is drawing the current worldwide synoptic analysis on the Virgin Inflight magazine world map…only another 15 hours of flying time to go………..

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in 737-700, Australia, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

