We arrived in Los Angeles before we left Melbourne…..

You read right!! We left Melbourne in the southern hemisphere at 7am on the 18th January…..and with a good jet at our tail across the Pacific, we landed in Los Angeles at 5.51am on the 18th January…nearly 1 hour before we had even left πŸ˜‰

On the plane……pre lunch/dinner drinks were served about half an our before lunch…Clyve was served a gin and tonic which would have rolled you under a fence!!! lunch/dinner was served at 2.20pm Melbourne time (just southwest of Noumea) and was one of the best we have had.. The other passengers must have agreed because the plane was very quiet for nearly half an hour as people were eating .

Clyve had braised beef with mashed potatoes, carrots and broccoli and I had chicken cacciatore with risoni and green beans. Accompanying the meal was a Greek salad with a balsamic and olive oil dressing, which also spiced up the risoni and green beans rather nicely once the olives, goats cheese, cucumber and tomato had been polished off….and a glass of red set it off nicely, (a slightly rounder cab sav would have been an improvement)…a bread roll, butter, Bega cheese (oh how I am going to miss you in a the next 6 months…) and a Harrys chocolate mousse finished the meal off nicely….Clyve gave his 7 out of 10 and I’ll go all the way to an 8 out of 10….

Ok, so I watched “Into the Storm”….overall 3.5/10…….corniness 8/10……sound effects 5/10………casting 4/10……storyline – Im sure I’ve seen it somewhere before…..realisticness (is that a word? if not, it is now!)…..3/10, things blowing up and being thrown around in the air -that’s gotta be a 5…..I’m so pleased I didn’t pay to see it…..

As is my habit on long haul flights, I went wandering off around the plane after the meal…..I know they had warned everyone not to congregate in groups anywhere on the plane but I don’t think they were counting on the gym/pilates session that 15 or so of us down the back of the plane were taking part in at one stage ……..at least if nothing else, we will be fitter when we land in LA than most of the other passengers….

We are awoken by a gentle blue light and the aroma of what I thought were croissants wafting through the plane… we’re halfway through the flight…..must be a midnight snack…..turned out to be a tomato and cheese toastie…bt now I feel like a blackberry jam croissant!!!!

Breakfast was real scrambled egg (with fresh parsley!!), a sausage link, cottage potatoes and fresh tomato…..a selection of melons and grape (singular…wonder whose job it is in the factory to put one plump grape in every fruit container? πŸ˜‰ ),an apple and spice muffin, orange juice and a cup of tea or coffee…I think Virgin have changed their caterers in the last few months and we applaud their decision!!!

That’s the end of our flying for a while……in LA we had 2 Customs agents look us up and down with something akin to astonishment when we told them we were over here to chase storms, etc and etc……and then raise their eyebrows at each other….don’t we look like stormchasers???

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in air travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

