Adventures of a stormchaser….

AJC59214a copyfter spending the day chasing 2 supercells (one with a local rancher in our back seat bouncing over his paddocks to his fire spotting lookout on the highest hill in that part of South Dakota), seeing a tornado (over a hill), running ahead of a storm at 80mph along Interstate 90, measuring 93mph winds while stationary on said Interstate which made the car bounce up and down in one spot, we approach Exit 192 to Murdo……and the power to the town goes out…..we fight our way into the hotel carpark after missing it the first time, and sit in the car for some time waiting for the wind to die down enough to get to the hotel lobby without being blown off my feet…hammer on the door only to have it opened by Reed Timmer who was getting a room there……fortunately we’d booked earlier and the keys had been created……after 3 trips to the car we dragged everything upstairs by the light of a pen torch…….and ate ‘dinner’ at 1am – branflakes by the light of an iPad.

Handy Hint #315674.5: always keep your hotspot, iPads, iPhones and laptop fully charged when travelling…you’ll never know when you will need a torch (flashlight)!!

Photo: Clyve Herbert (Australian Sky & Weather)

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in Handy hints, Stormchasing, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

