How is a vowel different to a consonant and what the heck is a partitive article???????

A million years ago (when I was at high school) I had a love-hate relationship with the technicalities of the English language. I could spell virtually any word, having won spelling bees all through primary (elementary) school, but in high school I hit the first of many brick walls…..which led to me going from the A class to the C class and actually failing the “Trial School Certificate” although I did scrape through the real thing….

diphthongsNewZealandVowels and consonants and dipthongs I enjoyed because phonetics was fun (and had contributed somewhat to my success in spelling comps) – a friend and I taught ourselves to write phonetically using the Greek alphabet in one of the earlier years of high school because we were bored, so I was ok with those and syllables. I struggled through and managed to be able to deal with adjectives, nouns and verbs….but throw a conjunction or a preposition at me and I floundered……and promptly drowned.

I was reminded of these struggles today when I dusted off my “once every 2 years French language” books as we will be staying in Paris for a couple of nights in January and it was time to refresh my very bad (but spoken with a good accent) French…….and ran headfirst into the masculine and feminine of the English words “small”, “next” and “white”…and it all came flooding back…… aaaaaarrrrghhhhhhh!!!!!

I’m now staring at this ….

“An article (un article) is a small but essential little word that introduces a noun and takes its gender and number. Articles come in three types:
The definite articles: le, la, l’, and les (the). For example: les enfants (the children).
The indefinite articles: un and une (a/an), des (some), and de and d’ (no/not any). For example: un chat (a cat).
The partitive articles: du, de la, de l’, and des (some). For example, de l’eau (some water).”

I think it’s time for a cup of tea……..

About AUSSKY

In the words of J K Rowling..... ” I just write what I wanted to write. I write what amuses me. It’s totally for myself. ” if you enjoy what I write, I'm delighted...if you don't...then I'm delighted..... I'm a retired business manager chasing storms and weather in Australia and the USA, photographing anything that takes my eye, and catching up on my reading from the last 23 years. I've finally got the chance to share my thoughts with the world.
This entry was posted in language, retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

